Help! I Think My Brain Is Leaking!!!

I’m totally technology proof! I’m always out of date when it comes to anything having to do with technology. I always catch up late, if ever! And you know all these technological terms that people nowadays use, I don’t understand the majority of it! Talk to me about poetry, and I will love you. About history, and I can go on for hours listing the history of most well-known nations, wars, epidemics… Arts, philosophy, psychology, you name it and I have the needed information. But not technology! That word is so heavy on my ears!

Whenever someone discusses anything related to this subject I feel like the lazy kid who sits in the back of the class, half asleep, with no idea of what the teacher is talking about, praying that she doesn’t ask him any questions!

To make things even worst, my husband is an electron mechanical engineer with a passion for technology! While I surf the net for poetry, literature and philosophy, he surfs it for the latest upgrades, inventions, computer programs! When he manages to download a rare application he’s as happy as a child on a Christmas morning! Some days, he would come home, excited to show me the latest technology he downloaded into his N8( this phone is his spoiled baby boy!) and I start nodding, and saying :” hmm! Wow! “you know like someone who gets it, but in fact I’m not even there! I’d be thinking about my baby’s diaper, or what to have for dinner! And then the deadly questions are asked:

-Do you like it( off course I nod in approval to God knows what!)

-Isn’t it something (I know) ,

-Do you know its a break through in the history of mobile phones ( yes, I know),

-What was I talking about (I don’t know!)

Yesterday I made him a nice dinner, gave him a neck massage, and then after I made sure his tummy is filled and his nerves are relaxed, I asked for a new laptop.

“Sure” he said.”what kind of laptops would you like

I was about to say “the kind that has a screen, a keyboard and can get me online faster than this old thing I have now” but I knew I’ll just sound stupid!

“You’re the expert, which do you recommend”

And all I remember after my question, was hearing all sort of names, types, features which I understand nothing about! I even thought “why did I have to ask! My laptop is just fine! sure its 4 years old, and very slow, but it’s just fine!

What Is wrong with my brain! why can’t I comprehend anything related to this subject! When my husband tells me that my computer has a virus, I feel sad as if its sick and I wish I could make it a warm cup of tea and give it two tablets of Panadol, maybe it will feel better! but then I remember it’s a machine that we’re talking about!

Another embarrassing thing about me, is that I have the memory of a fish!!! ( you know fish’s memory is wiped out every 5 seconds) especially when it comes to the names of pharmaceutical drugs! before our monthly visit to my daughter’s doctor I memorize the names of the drugs I’m giving her just like a student getting ready to take a difficult exam! But once that red hair man asks me: what did you give her for her ear’s infection, or for her tummy pain I black out ! “ehhhhhhh, ehhhhhhhhhh, ehhhh I squeeze my brain, but I can’t remember! I give my husband that desperate look that says : Help! and my hero runs to the rescue. Thanks God he has a good memory!

I’m starting to think I have a brain leak !

The positive side of this matter is that I don’t remember fighting with people! I would have had a dreadful fight with someone and two days later I greet them and talk to them as if nothing has  happened. At first people used to be surprised, but now they know me well, and it’s something they like about me (especially my mother in law!)

12 thoughts on “Help! I Think My Brain Is Leaking!!!

  1. Must be something to do with the difference between men and women: my eyes also glaze over when talk turns to gigs, hard drives, etc ….

    • Thank you Colline! I’m glad to know I’m not the only woman in this! Most of the responses I got were from women who said that when it comes to technology their information is almost null.

  2. Like you, I have a horrible mind when it comes to remembering things; so much that it is frustrating at times. Oh, well! Hooray for our heros! 🙂

  3. Hi Rana. Nice post. Actually made me laugh out loud. Found your blog while reading through “M” Versatile Blogger Award list.
    🙂

  4. LOL! It’s a very common problem to most women and girls!

    Even that I’m truly interested in technology and the latest editions of everything, my younger brother never cease to outdo me!! 😀
    He’s obsessed with everything concerning tech stuff especially when it comes to mobile’s software. God he’s unbearable. Wherever I try to keep up with him I end up not understanding a single expression! 😀

    • Well That’s it then! Women of the world should you unite to either get rid of technology(LoL) or to get it right! I’ll never get it right so my vote goes for the first option. Parry, thank you for the nice comment, and PS: All younger brothers are unbearable, and poor me I have three:)

      • Then I’ll vote for the 2nd option, I wanna get it right ..

        You’re most welcome, Rana! I really enjoyed reading this post a lot 🙂

        Oh! May Allah bless you and all your brothers, they’re a real bliss – when their mood is NICE 😉

      • Well if I’m gonna go for the 2nd option am gonna need a new brain!! One able to analyze what the word technology means, do you mind lending me yours for a while then 🙂 hahah Thank you for your lovely comments, and may the lord bless you and your family as well 🙂

Leave a comment