My name is Rana, And I’m not a terrorist!

Yes my friends I am an Arab, a Lebanese who is proud of her country and her nationality. I’m writing this post after reading the post of my fellow blogger Aisha, who felt annoyed after watching a video on you tube, where a Muslim girl in veil appeared and the comments on that video were insulting to the girl and her religion.`

Unfortunately the stereo types of Muslims and Arabs that the media has spread around the world caused this! And after 9/11 the situation exploded! Hearts were filled with hatred and revenge. Since then when you mention the word Arab outside the Arabian countries the first picture that pops into minds is a person with a long beard, wrapped in old clothes, riding on a camel with a pistol on his side, and is ready to kill, rape and destroy in the name of God!!! And you are not to blame for having such an imagination, because Media ( Be it T.V or internet or any other form , has been planting this image in your minds since years ago). Now most of you have seen photos of me and my family, I mean come on do we look like we’ve been in the desert riding camels? or do we have the looks of a terrorist?

In my country Lebanon we have tasted the bitter cup of civil wars for over than thirty years, and we learned the hard way that this wasn’t the way of God! But the ways of the devil himself!!! We were fighting each other and killing each other in the name of God, when did God ask us to kill in his name?Show me in any religion in the world did God say it’s ok to kill? I thank God everyday that I was not yet born during that awful phase of our history. I’m unable to harm an ant!

And those people who kill and harm in the name of God, are led by the devil .  They know nothing about the Lord and his commandments,

John 13:34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.”

As  an Arab Christian I feel insulted when someone insults the muslims in my country, because they are my brothers in humanity and my neighbors. And I keep in mind what my lord Jesus taught me:Mark 12:31 The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”

Since pictures speak louder than words, allow me my friends to post a picture that will tell it all about Lebanon.

Bless you.

18 thoughts on “My name is Rana, And I’m not a terrorist!

    • Thank you so much for your comment, and for supporting my cause. And another thank you for following my blog, I took a peek into your blog and I loved it, I’ll be visiting soon to take a longer look.

  1. I was blessed to have a totally brilliant and totally gifted Lebanese professor for my advanced class in Comparative Religions in post-graduate studies! This was in 1970 in Ohio! So you see, I was “immunized” against stereotypes of what Arabic and Lebanese peoples were like! Thanks be to God! Your photo, showing the church and the mosque side by side is just the way that professor described his native land to us! Crosses and minarets, abiding in peace!

    • My dear granbee, you’re such a wise person and I’m honored to receive your comment! I’m happy that you’ve met this Lebanese professor and about what he has told you, that’s why as you said, these stereotypes didn’t affect you. I wish we could spread more awareness about this issue, a lot of people are discriminated against simply because they are of a certain religion or have a certain skin color or even because they belong to a certain sex!!!

  2. Excellent post! I see it everyday, and I have personally had encounters with these people while living here. Unfortunately, ignorance is a plague in America. I grew up with Christians and Muslims as neighbors, and my closest friend growing up was a Lebanese Christian girl. My parents taught me that we all worshiped the same God, and guess what? They joined us to celebrate Eid, while we joined to celebrate Christmas. THIS is how I was raised, and how I raise my children.
    Thank you again Rana for a great post, I’ve been playing with the idea of visualizing this in a poster for a while, but my ideas are not completely formed yet. Will keep you posted 🙂

    xoxo

    • Thank you Resho for your comment, my post was initially inspired from a Bollywood must watch movie, called : My name Is Khan and I’m not a terrorist! I cried while watching it, and it shows how muslims in America were dicreminated against after 9/11. But my dear, you know the saying: الانسان عدو ما يجهل! That’s why it’s our job to let other’s know we are good people. Bless you.

  3. I loved that picture. It so reminds me of my school days where we all kids were celebrated each other’s festivals. Sometimes we would even attend each other’s religious classes if we did not want to be separated for even a few hours 🙂

  4. Yes, the day to day person is not what is represented in the media. Most muslim men and women are just doing what most of us are: working, making sure their family has what they need, spending time with family, and going about their daily tasks.

    • Very well said Colline, that’s how the wise people see it. To be honest I was both surprised and happy to receive all your comments on this blog and to see that there are a lot of people who understand this issue properly and are not trapped in the stereotypes imposed by the media. Thank you my dear. Have a wonderful day.

    • My dear Aisha, it’s true that we saw the sun today after a long hard winter, but it was still cold until I got your comments 🙂 Today you added warmth to my heart 🙂 Thank you so much for nominating me, I feel honored, I’ll be posting my thank you post soon inshallah. Bless you.

  5. Hello dear Rana, I completely understand your feeling, though the subject is different. As a Colombian, one of the first comments I hear when people hear my country of origin is drugs, cocaine, etc. Though this is a real problem in my country, it is not a reality for all its inhabitants. I, for instance, do not consume drugs nor sell them. However, and unfortunatelly, stereotypes are all around us; we all are victims of it in one way or another, something I have learned since I came to Canada, a country where you can learn about different cultures. Great post, Love your picture!

    • So true my dear Jenny! I’ve heard that about Colombia from the media as well!But I have enough logic to realize that not all Colombians are drug dealers nor consumers! Here on wordpress we interact with different civilizations and different nationalities and we each, whether we intend to or not represent our country and our traditions, and allow me to say that you represent both Colombia and Canada in the best and most honoring way. Bless you!

    • Jack I have to say thank you, not only for your comment but for your continuous support for my work. And I’m glad that you’re one of the wise people who know the difference between stereotypes and reality.

  6. Rana, I am so glad you posted this.

    We the majority of peace embracing people who love our fellow man should NEVER allow the fringe lunatics (yes, lunatics, not fanatics) to hijack our religion, whichever it might be – Islam, Christianity…

    • Very well said Eric, they are Lunatics indeed because they don’t use logic to evaluate these issues, in this world there are two types of people: Good people and bad people! no matter what their religion, color, sex, country of origin , etc is.
      Thank you my friend for your comment.

Leave a Reply

