Only to you I kneel

James 4:6 ESV  : But he gives more grace. Therefore it says, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”

Micah 6:8 ESV  He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

Matthew 19:24 Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.”

To you I come thirsty,

My throat hurts,

yet my tongue speaks the truth,

my lips are proud to repeat your name

only to you I kneel,

in pain I speak, the heavy burdens on my shoulders are becoming a part of my body

to you only , I reveal my weakness, and confess my sins…

Oh Father, Holy is your name

You lift my burdens, and ease my pain

Oh Father, Holy is your name,

you water my soul so I don’t feel the thirst,

Hear me Lord, to you I pray,

I light my candle, wipe oil on my forehead,and ask for your mercy

Holy is your name

Only to you I kneel  in shame of what my weak soul tempted me to do

I’m in pain because through my sins I made you sad,

forgive me Father I’m your little child

I deserve your punishment, but do not deprive me from your love

You have blessed me with your gifts

took away my pain

protected my soul and guided me to the right path again

Your generosity amazes me

your love softens my heart

isn’t it enough you carried a heavy cross, so I don’t

and you were crucified to save my spirit from doom

Hear my words of regret my Lord, and feel my tears

my soul is humbled by your presence and my heart craves your grace

To you I pray

This busy life with all its fake appearances has distracted us from meditating in your words

we forgot that you warned us that the devil will try to distract us as he disguises in many ways

Fashion, televisions , mobile phones, fancy cars, luxurious houses

do all these things really matter?

through your life you have shown us how little we need to be truly happy

in the most humble places you were born

and as a carpenter you have worked

you washed the feet of your students

and shared your dinner with the needy

you could have chosen any life you want

yet you chose to be poor and humble

help me reflect on your life

and learn from you my Lord, my teacher and savior

protect my soul Father

help me to be wise enough to hold on to my faith

let your beauty shine through my actions and my words

help me to be more modest and to remember that I’m from dust and to dust I shall one day return

Amen

6 thoughts on “Only to you I kneel

  1. A most worthy prayer and beautifully lined poem! I love these words:”let your beauty shine through my actions and my words.” This is my Lenten Prayer, as well!

    • Dear granbee,
      Thank you for your comment, we’re always weak as humans and are tempted to say and do things which might hurt others even if we didn’t mean to. I read somewhere that saints preferred to keep silent most of the times and speak only when it’s necessary with few words.

Leave a Reply

